About the Conference

Under the theme "Cancer in Africa: Bridging Science and Humanity", topics discussed at the AORTIC 2013 conference will include cutting edge cancer management and basic science and clinical research on cancers relevant to Africa. This includes the following: National Cancer Control Plans (NCCPs), Cancer Registration, Basic Sciences, Genetics, Epigenetics, Site-specific Cancers, Biomarkers, Novel Therapies, Radiation, Chemotherapy, Epidemiology, Diagnostic Support Services, Ethics and Good Clinical Practice, HIV-AIDS-related cancers, Palliative Care and Oncology Nursing.

The conference will consist of a combination of "Meet the Experts" breakfast sessions, interactive workshops, industry symposia, plenary sessions and free communications of research performed in Africa and internationally. Speakers will be drawn from across the globe representing high quality expertise in the field of oncology.

The official languages of the conference are English and French and simultaneous interpretation will be provided in the two plenary venues.

AORTIC 2013 Local Organising Committee

In co-operation with the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Professor Vikash Sewram (Chair)
Ms Sue Janse van Rensburg
Professor Cristina Stefan
Dr Sarah Fakroodeen
Professor Thandinkosi Madiba
Professor Greta Dreyer
Professor Lynette Denny (ex officio member)
Ms Belmira Rodrigues (ex officio member)

AORTIC 2013 Scientific Programme Committee

Professor Serigne Gueye, Senegal
Professor Isaac Adewole, Nigeria
Professor Lynette Denny, South Africa
Professor Pratistadevi Ramdial, South Africa
Professor Vikash Sewram, South Africa
Professor Cristina Stefan, South Africa
Professor Timothy Rebbeck, USA
Professor Amr Soliman, Egypt/USA
Dr Nicholas Abinya Othieno, Kenya
Dr Jackson Orem, Uganda
Professor Kamal Mohammed, Sudan
Dr Joe Harford, USA
Dr Otis Brawley, USA
Professor Freddy Sitas, Australia
Professor Christopher Wild, France
Professor Jean-Marie Dangou, DR Congo
Dr Verna Vanderpuye, Ghana
Dr Mary Gospodarowicz, Canada
Dr Virna Leaner, South Africa
Professor Mike Kew, South Africa
Professor Folakemi Odedina, USA
Dr Ian Magrath, Belgium
Dr Rengaswamy Sankaranarayanan, France
Professor Sulma Mohammed, USA/Sudan
Professor Greta Dreyer, South Africa

Key Dates

Abstract submission deadline:
Bursary application deadline:
AORTIC 2013 Pre Conference Workshops:
Wednesday 20 – Thursday 21 November 2013
AORTIC 2013:
Thursday 21 - Sunday 24 November 2013