The African Organisation for Research and Training in Cancer (AORTIC) invites abstracts for its biennial International Conference on Cancer in Africa.

The 2023 conference, 2nd – 6th November, will be convened under the theme “Cancer in Africa: Implementation, Workforce, Opportunities” and the programme will feature a wide range of sessions, discussions, and networking opportunities with experts, researchers, and up-and-coming leaders in cancer control and care in Africa.

This is an opportunity to share your research with African and international colleagues who are actively working toward reducing the impact of cancer in Africa. Abstracts of both empirical and theoretical studies related to cancer are welcome, and researchers at all career stages are encouraged to submit one or more abstracts.

Abstracts will be peer reviewed and acceptance will be based on content relevance and overall programme balance.



  • Call for Abstracts: 23 March 2023
  • Abstract submission deadline: 31 May 2023
  • Late breakers abstract Submission open: 21 June 2023
  • Authors notified: 26 June 2023
  • Registration deadline for successful authors: 14 July 2023
  • Late breakers abstracts submission closed: 19 July 2023

Abstracts specifications

  • Abstracts may be submitted in

    English or French.

  • Choose a topic that best categorises the work among the one proposed.
  • Abstract title should be typed in UPPER CASE. The title should define the subject and contain no abbreviations.
  • The maximum word count for the body of the abstract is 300 words.
  • In the body of the abstract, standard abbreviations need not be defined; other abbreviations and acronyms should be defined on first use.
  • Abstracts should contain four sections:
    • OBJECTIVE: introductory sentence indicating the objective and purpose of the study.
    • METHODS: description of experimental procedures, including applicable statistical evaluation.
    • RESULTS: summary of the data and results.
    • CONCLUSIONS: statement of the study’s conclusions.
  • Generic names for pharmaceuticals, biologicals, and medical devices should be used in place of trade names. Trade names should only be used if equivalent products from multiple manufacturers are being compared.
  • Overly commercial abstracts will not be accepted.
  • Do not include graphics, photographs, or tables.
  • Abstracts may have one submitting author and up to five co-authors.
  • The submitting author must be the presenting author. The submitting author’s details must be entered first. All correspondence from the Programme Manager will be sent to the submitting author and the abstract will be listed under the submitting author’s name in the conference programme and the digital abstract book.

Presentation format & prizes

Authors of accepted abstracts will be invited to give an oral presentation or a poster presentation. While effort will be made to accommodate the author’s preference in presentation format, the final decision will rest with the Scientific Programme Committee. Oral abstracts will be grouped by theme and presented in the Oral Abstract sessions. Authors chosen for a poster session will be given two days to display their poster, with a dedicated poster session.

All accepted abstracts will be published in the electronic abstract publication under the submitting (presenting) author’s name. In addition, ten of the top-scoring abstracts will be featured in a best of the best abstracts session in the Scientific Programme.

Two prestigious awards will be given to the top scoring abstracts: The Jim and Jimmie Holland Award for Most Promising African Research and The Christopher Williams Award for Innovation in Cancer Care in Africa.


Abstracts should be relevant to healthcare and social issues specific to cancer control and care in Africa. Abstracts must adequately describe the research performed to allow reviewers to evaluate the quality, originality, and thoroughness of the work.

The Abstract Review Panel will score abstracts based on the following criteria, with each being equally weighted:

  • Ground-breaking: The abstract presents new information, innovative insights, work that is novel, and/or thought leadership in its subject or application.
  • Impact potential/interest: The abstract presents research that is a significant contribution to the field. The abstract stands out from others in its subject or application.
  • Quality: The abstract contains sound insights supported by world-class research and analysis. It is concise, coherent, well organised, and includes all the required sections (objective, methods, results, conclusions). The abstract indicates that the final presentation will be of an adequately high standard.
  • Significance/relevance: The work presented in the abstract is relevant to the AORTIC programme topics. The focus of the abstract and its relevance to the AORTIC conference audience is clear.


  1. Prepare your abstract to the above specifications.
  2. Access the submission site via the abstract submission button.
  3. Complete all compulsory fields and enter your abstract.
  4. Carefully check your personal and contact details and your abstract. Abstracts will be published “as is” with no editing.
  5. Check your email for confirmation of your submission.
  6. To make changes, follow the instructions in your confirmation email.

Please note that abstracts must be submitted via the abstract submission site; submissions via email will not be accepted.

Should you have any question regarding the abstract submission, please contact Shannon Temmers

Abstract Review Panel

  • Prisca Adejumo

  • Hennie Botha
  • Chibuke Chigbu
  • Frank Chinegwundoh
  • Henry Ddungu
  • Khalid El Bairi
  • Mohammed Ezzi
  • Pedro Fernandes
  • Surbhi Grover
  • Luca Incrocci
  • Paul Jibrin
  • Diana Kassaman

  • Violet Kayamba
  • Florence Manjuh
  • Leo Masamba
  • Jennifer Moodley
  • Sitna Mwanzi
  • Karen Nakawala
  • Ntokozo Ndlovu
  • Blaise Nkegoum
  • Fred Okuku
  • Naomi Oti
  • Peter Oyiro

  • Max Parkin
  • Fidel Rubagumya
  • Rakiya Saidu
  • Aba Scott
  • Hannah Simmons
  • Peter Veylsteke
  • Khadija Warfa
  • Kosj Yamoah
  • Clayton Yates