Since 1983, AORTIC conferences have provided a platform for innovative and interactive educational training across the full cancer-care continuum. An AORTIC conference creates space to forge partnerships, to network, and to build capacity. Our support for research creates new knowledge and drives innovation in cancer control.

All times are in Senegal Standard Time (UTC +0 GMT).

African Cancer Leaders Institute (ACLI)

The African Cancer Leaders Institute (ACLI) was conceived as a “meeting within a meeting” in collaboration with the African Organization for Research and Training in Cancer (AORTIC). In the past, ACLI participants have discussed cancer needs in Africa, core competencies in leadership, translating research into policy, national cancer plans, and interactions with partner organizations. ACLI participants have attended AORTIC scientific sessions, participated in meeting sessions designed specifically for the ACLI, as well as meeting with mentors individually. The long-term goal is to provide an intellectually stimulating platform for Emerging Global Cancer Research leaders from Africa and the US to receive mentorship and build a network to support innovative cancer research in Africa. The ACLI will form the basis of an African network for emerging leaders in cancer research in Africa, which itself will have annual goals and objectives set by a Steering Committee.


AORTIC 2023 Programme Chair Serigne Magueye Gueye, Senegal

AORTIC 2023 Programme Director Hannah Naa Gogwe Ayettey, Ghana

AORTIC 2023 Scientific Programme Committee Members:

  • James Randiak Alaro
  • Olusegun Alatise
  • Rose Anorlu
  • Frédéric Biemar
  • Fatima Cardoso
  • Aminata Sophie Coulbary
  • Nazima Dharsee
  • Greta Dreyer
  • Papa Macoumba Gaye
  • Rahel Ghebre
  • Yosr Hamdi
  • Nazik Hammad
  • Luca Incrocci
  • Mohamed Jalloh
  • Sidy Ka
  • T. Peter Kingham
  • Cesaltina Lorenzoni
  • Susan Citonge Msadabwe-Chikuni
  • Miriam Mutebi
  • Christian Ntizimira Ruchaho
  • Olufemi Ogunbiyi
  • Doug Pyle
  • Lorna Renner
  • Lewis Roberts
  • Belmira Rodrigues
  • Solomon Rotimi
  • Delva Shamley
  • Hannah Simonds
  • Verna Vanderpuye
  • Hirondina Vaz Borges Spencer
  • May Abdel Wahab
  • Rebecca Wong