Call for Abstracts 2021

Abstracts are invited for AORTIC 2021 Virtual. This is an opportunity to share your research with African and international colleagues who are actively working toward reducing the impact of cancer in Africa. Abstracts of both empirical and theoretical studies related to cancer are welcome, and researchers at all career stages are encouraged to submit one or more abstracts.

Authors of accepted abstracts will be invited to give a five-minute oral presentation. Oral presentations will be pre-recorded by the author and distributed to viewers via the virtual platform. In addition, ten of the top-scoring abstracts will be placed in the live programme within the relevant topic, and one live session will be dedicated to the best of the best abstracts.

Two prestigious awards will be given to the top scoring abstracts: The Jim and Jimmie Holland Award for Most Promising African Research and The Christopher Williams Award for Innovation in Cancer Care in Africa.


Call for Abstracts: 15 March 2021
Abstract submission deadline: 15 April 2021
Authors notified: Mid-June 2021
Registration deadline for successful authors: 30 June 2021


Download the Call for Abstracts PDF in English or French for all of the abstract guidelines. Please read it carefully before you submit your abstract.  

Call for Abstracts Appel à résumés Submit an Abstract


Mbassi Achille Aurele, Cameroon
Usman Aliu, Nigeria
Chioma Asuzu, Nigeria
Hannah Ayettey Anie, Ghana
Danladi Adamu Bojude, Nigeria
Fatima Cardoso, Portugal
Frank Chinegwundoh, UK
Lynette Denny, South Africa
Mohenou Diomande, Ivory Coast
Greta Dreyer, South Africa
Ahmed Elzawawy, Egypt
Omolara A Fatiregun, Nigeria
Pedro Fernandez, South Africa
Nazik Hammad, Sudan/Canada
Luca Incrocci, Netherlands
Paul Jibrin, Nigeria
Sidy Ka, Senegal
Peter Kingham, USA
Nwamaka Lasebikan, Nigeria
Cesaltina Lorenzoni, Mozambique
Zainab Mohamed, South Africa

Jennifer Moodley, South Africa
Susan Citonge Msadabwe-Chikuni, Kenya
Alex Mutombo Baleka, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Michael Mwatsuma Mwachiro, Kenya
Christine Mwakio, Kenya
Sitna Mwanzi, Kenya
Ntokozo Ndlovu, Zimbabwe
Lisa Newman, USA
Christian Ntizimira Ruchaho, Rwanda
Folakemi Odedina, Nigeria/USA
Naomi Oyoe Ohene Oti, Ghana
Solomon Rotimi, Nigeria
Fidel Rubagumya, Rwanda
Rakiya Saidu, South Africa
Lúcio Lara Santos, Portugal
Elaine Schattner, USA
Neil Sharma, UK
Marleen Temmerman, Belgium
Hirondina Vaz Borges Spencer, Cape Verde
Christine Wekese, Kenya